the question ‘why?’

IMG_9220.JPG

This is a call for HELP.

I could never have anticipated the amount of times I would get the steadfast reply of ‘why?’ nearly every single time I say something to Mo. Without hesitation he will look me in the eyes and ask ‘why?’

Just now for example when he reached for my phone and said ‘my phone.’ I told him ‘no that is my phone.’ He looked up at me and said ‘why?’ and I replied ’cause its mama’s phone’ and he replies: ‘why?’

I am almost at the point of not being able to deal. Thats an exaggeration of course, but really it is exhausting coming up with reasons ‘why’ for everything. I have tried the trick where I tell a story and get really nuanced about the reasons ‘why’ something is a certain way. Or just telling him a simple ‘because’. Even trying to ignore the questioning.

None of it seems to work. I know I could be really overly romantic and blissful: ‘look at my wonderful exploratory child, asking the universe ‘why’ at every turn!’ ‘How amazing to have the wonder of a baby boy.’ Bla bla bla. I am really at the stage where I want to know how you deal.

Please share any humorous stories or ways that you get around the never ending ‘why?’ from your toddler.

xx ly

 

2 thoughts on “the question ‘why?’

    1. Great question! I have never asked him ‘why’ back as that would get really crazy. We might end up like ‘pete and repeat are on a boat…’ But I could ask him ‘why do you ask why all the time?’ or ‘do you know what why means?’ haha!

      Like

Comments are great! Would love to hear what you think! xx Ly

