Post partum realness

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I don’t know if I am inspired by the flood of baby showers so far this month or maybe because it is a throwback Thursday,  either way, I am sharing this image from a little over a year ago. I was three days postpartum and in my natural habitat- a Nordstrom fitting room, getting some nursing bras.

At this point, after nine months of pregnancy, I had a collection of ‘bumpies’ on my phone. I found myself for the first time in a fitting room with the baby nestled in his car seat on the fitting room floor and an honest view of my body three days after giving birth. So I instinctively snapped a pic. I was amazed at the difference in my body- it was not my pregnancy body or my pre pregnancy body. It was a whole other body. I hope you can see in this image is a bit of pride and confidence as I was amazed at the different shape and form I had taken in a short period of time,  three days. I actually look about four or five months pregnant but all that was left was really mushy midsection and much bigger boobs than I was used to.

At about four months postpartum I fit into my old jeans & celebrated with an Instagram vid to the tune of Beyonce’s 7-11. I am now 55 weeks postpartum and fit into all the ore pregnancy clothes but my body is forever changed. My boobs are definitely different, but I also don’t really remember them pre pregnancy. It’s like I only really had them when I was pregnant. My mod section is softer than before but it’s nothing I am uncomfortable with. These are changes that I have accepted. I could always do more crunches & core work I guess.

Would love to hear other women’s thoughts about their post partum body.

xx Ly

 

 

One thought on “Post partum realness

  1. Well.. I am 7 months pregnant, and I am wondering how I’m going to shed the 40’ish lbs i predict I will be up by delivery. I’ve been looking to wordpress for other women being in the same predicament as I am, wondering how they will get back to where they were before, achieve fitness goals, when really, things (like.. my body lol) will probably never be exactly the same as it was before pregnancy. Thanks for sharing your story and pic in this post

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are great! Would love to hear what you think! xx Ly

