it is 2016

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Here it is, day one of a new year. I sit here in the comfort of my home. At the dining room table where I like to browse the internet, Zara’s holiday sale & various blog posts from around the world. I catch myself reflecting a bit on the year as I enjoy my favorite snack: cheese, crackers & artisanal salumi accompanied by some bubbly water.

This past year has been a serious one. Not in a sad or depressing way. But in a very adult and holy shit when did I become this woman kind of way. I was an adult the entire year (read: parent/mom/madre). My maternity leave allowed me to ease a bit into this new role. I had four whole months to learn and focus on being a parent and adjust to this new person and the responsibility of caring for him along with learning how to parent with Mike. In May when I returned to work I soon transitioned into a new job. I had to quickly get up to speed and navigate the new territory and determine how I would handle the new challenges I would be facing.

Together these two things really shaped my year, and years to come. I am still figuring out how to balance and ‘juggle’ both of them. The help from family in caring for Mo is huge. Without this Mike and I probably could not survive. We know how fortunate we are to have them at our fingertips.

The past two weeks off from work I have checked out more than I had intended (sorry inbox). It has been so so so nice to unplug (mostly) and slow down. Focusing on family and friends and food and drink. Celebrating the accomplishments of last year, the memories made and being in the company of the people we love and who love us most. It has been so nice- a staycation if you will. We have not accomplished much beyond eating delicious meals, laughing and getting in a few runs and a couple rides at Burncycle. The family photos I imagined we would get on Mario’s birthday, Christmas Eve or Christmas Day are non existent beyond the below poor attempt at a selfie & the above image that I took yesterday right before I took down all the Christmas decor. I realized I had not taken a festive photo of little Mo! It has been slow and enjoyable. I truly do not know how I will get back to it on Monday, it is going to be rough. I am already trying to plan a spring break getaway somewhere warm so we have that to look forward to.

IMG_6627.JPG

Thanks for reading over the past year, my first full year of blogging. More to come in 2016!

xx Ly

One thought on “it is 2016

Comments are great! Would love to hear what you think! xx Ly

